Category: YO News

Gail Schmidt

Posted on 26th October 2016 in Society News, YO News

Gail Schmidt, Director, Ophthalmic Society Relations at the American Academy has just reached 25 years of dedicated service and devotion to the Academy and the family of LDP programmes across the globe. Congratulations on an outstanding achievement and a big, big thanks from all of us in European Ophthalmology. Gail has offered huge support to SOE for the YO development and the

Read More

Grant Report from Instituto de Oftalmologia Dr. Gama Pinto in Lisbon, Portugal.

Posted on 26th October 2016 in SOE Grant Placement Reports, YO News

From 12 to 30 September I had training in Instituto de Oftalmologia Dr. Gama Pinto in Lisbon, Portugal. Because my  subspecialty is posterior segment pathology, that  most of the time I spent in Medical retina department. We discussed in detail with colleagues clinical cases and referral pathway. There I’ve improved my management skills in the

Read More

AAO2016 Ophthalmology Around the Globe  – A YOs Perspective

Posted on 18th October 2016 in YO News

Another  well attended session for YO’s at AAO2016 was Ophthalmology Around the Globe  – A YOs Perspective. Moderated by Grace Sun. Brad Feldman from the AAO discussed the work AAO were doing with EyeWiki, the Eye Encyclopedia written by Eye Physicians & Surgeons  for more details go to The site is for ophthalmologists, other physicians, patients and the

Read More

YO at AAO2016

Posted on 18th October 2016 in Uncategorized, YO News

Anthony Khawaja PhD FRCOphth Moorfields, UK and Past YO Chair was moderator with Natasha Nayak MD NY, USA on a very informative and well attended session in the AAO YO lounge on ‘Navigating a career as a clinician -scientist.

Read More

SOE YO Fellowship database

Posted on 31st August 2016 in YO News

To access the new SOE platform for YOs, detailing all available fellowship opportunities and different forms of training across Europe click here To read more on the Fellowship platform from Marko Hawlina, MD, PhD, chair of the SOE Education Committee and Jan Tjeerd de Faber, MD, SOE President click here

Read More