Charamis and Henkes Medal winners

The SOE Board are delighted to announce the recipients for the the Charamis medal and the Henkes medal. Both medals will be presented at the SOE 2021 Opening Ceremony on 10 June 2021 in Prague.

The Charamis Medal will be awarded to Lucio Buratto, Italy, who is the Director of Centro Ambrosiano Oftalmico in Milan and is involved primarily in the surgical treatment of the cataract and refractive surgery.

The medal is given by the Hellenic Ophthalmological Society every 4 years to a European ophthalmologist for their great achievement in the field of ophthalmic surgery. To view previous winners of the Charamis medal click here and scroll to SOE Awards

The Henkes medal will be awarded to Stefan Seregard, Sweden, Past SOE President. Stefan Seregard is tenured Professor of Ophthalmology, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden and Chairman, Department of Vitreoretinal Diseases at St Erik Eye Hospital, Stockholm. He is Director of the Ophthalmic Pathology Laboratory and Director for Research and Education at St Erik Eye Hospital, Stockholm. The medal is given by the Harold Henkes Foundation for the greatest achievements in the field of Leadership in ophthalmology.

For all updates on SOE 2021 go to we look forward to welcoming you to our comprehensive Ophthalmology meeting, delivering a world class scientific programme in Prague.