Charamis Medal and Henkes Medal Announcement for 2013

At the recent SOE Board Meeting members voted for the Charamis Medal to be awarded to Ioannis Pallikaris, Greece. The medal is given by the Hellenic Ophthalmological Society every 4 years to a European ophthalmologist for their great achievement in the field of ophthalmic surgery.

The Charamis Medal has previously been awarded to:

R. Collin, United Kingdom, 2009

Y. Pouliquen, France, 2005

R. Zivojnovic, The Netherlands, 2001

G.P. Theodossiadis, Greece, 1997

G.O.H. Naumann, Germany, 1995

G. Meyer-Schwickerath, Germany, 1992

J.D. Scott, United Kingdom, 1988

C.D. Binkhorst , The Netherlands, 1984

R. Kloti, Switzerland, 1980

J. François, France, 1976

In addition the SOE Members voted for the Henkes Medal for Leadership in Ophthalmology to be awarded to Luc Missotten, Belgium. The Henkes Medal, which is given by the Professor Dr Harold E Henkes Foundation, will be presented for the first time at SOE 2013. Following this the Henkes medal will be awarded every 4 years to an ophthalmologist for the greatest achievement in the field of leadership in ophthalmology.

Both medals will be presented during the SOE 2013 Congress in Copenhagen, Denmark in June 2013.