SOE Board, Associate and Honorary Members at the SOE Board Meeting 2022, Valletta, Malta

SOE is short for Societas Ophthalmologica Europæa and is the European Society of Ophthalmology with representatives from 44 National Ophthalmological Societies in Europe. After the second World War discussions were started to create a European Society of Ophthalmology.

The final decision to create SOE was made on 26th April, 1956. The first Council was created by 19 representatives from different European countries. Professor Bailliart from France was the first President and Professor Jules François, Belgium, was elected Secretary General.l.