SOE 2023 Medal Awards

SOE are delighted to announce that the following awards will be presented at the SOE 2023 Opening Ceremony on Thursday 15th June 2023 at the Prague Congress Centre, Czech Republic.

Stefan Seregard, M.D., PH.D., Professor of Ophthalmology, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden will be awarded the Henkes Medal. The Henkes Medal awarded for Leadership in Ophthalmology, is given by the Professor Dr Harold Henkes Foundation. It was presented for the first time at SOE 2013 to Luc Missotten, Belgium. The Henkes Medal will be awarded every four years to an ophthalmologist for the greatest achievements in the field of leadership in ophthalmology.

Lucio Buratto, MD, Italy cataract and refractive surgery, Director of Centro Ambrosiano Oftalmico in Milan, will be awarded the Charamis Medal. The Charamis Medal is given by the Hellenic Ophthalmological Society. It is awarded by the SOE Board every four years to a European ophthalmologist for the greatest achievement in the field of ophthalmic surgery.

Matteo Piovella, MD, Italy, Global Center for Ophthalmology in Monza (Milan), Italy, will be awarded the Helmholtz Medal. Founded in 1968 this medal is awarded every four years to the European ophthalmologist who has done much for the Society and for ophthalmology.