SOE2017 Opening Ceremony

The SOE2017 Congress officially opened today.

The SOE President, Jan Tjeerd  de  Faber welcomed everyone to Barcelona and highlighted the importance in this digital age for people to meet face to face and make new friends whilst sharing information during the Congress.

The ceremony was made up of speeches from friends of SOE including Cynthia Bradford AAO President, Richard Abbott AAO, Global Initative’s;

SOE were delighted to welcome Elena Barraquer as Master of Ceremony and Rafael Barraquer who spoke on behalf of the Spanish National Society

Hugh Taylor, ICO President and Bill Felch, ICO Chief Executive Officer awarded the Mark TSO Golden Apple Award, the award recognises innovation and leadership in  Education, to Mr Wagih Aclimandos. Mr Waigh Aclimandos  was delighted to receive the award and spoke of his privilege in working in Education.

Other awards presented were the Charamis Medal,  given by the Hellenic Ophthalmological Society, for the greatest achievement in the field of ophthalmic surgery to Mr Keith Barton 

The final award was the Henkes medal, given by the Harold Henkes Foundation for the greatest achievements in the field of Leadership in ophthalmology, and was  awarded to Professor, Bo Philipson 

SOE were delighted to welcome Jacques de Faber and Evert Jan de Groot  for  some wonderful Spanish opera